Dropkick was formed by brothers Andrew and Alastair Taylor and friend Ian Grier in a small town on the east coast of Scotland. Starting off as a punk-pop band, the band discovered the music of The Jayhawks, The Byrds, Tom Petty and Wilco and their sound gradually matured into more of an alt-country style but without losing the upbeat, catchy melodies of their songs. Since their self-titled and self-released debut album in 2001, Dropkick have released a further twelve albums and three EPs, had worldwide airplay (including BBC Radio 2, Radio Gothenburg and Onda Madrid), performed live on BBC Children In Need and toured in Spain five times, a country in which they have a significant cult following. Their 2008 album ‘Dot The I’ (originally released on their own Taylored Records label) was re-issued by Rock Indiana Records in Spain and Dropkick’s albums, ‘Patchwork’, ‘Abelay Hotel’, ‘Time Cuts The Ties’ and ‘Paper Trails’ were released between 2008 and 2012 on Swedish label Sound Asleep Records. In 2014 Dropkick released two albums: ‘Homeward’, on Taylored Records and Bobo Integral in Spain, and ‘Good Vibes: The Dropkick Songbook Vol.1’, a retrospective collection of songs from between 2001-2008 released by Rock Indiana Records. These releases were supported with a massively successful tour of Spain and UK shows. Dropkick’s line-up has changed many times over the years but in early 2015 the band, expanded to a five piece line up the previous year, welcomed Roy W Taylor back into the band after a four year break to replace founding member, Alastair Taylor.
  • Andrew Taylor – vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards
  • Roy W. Taylor – vocals, guitar
  • Ian Grier – organ, piano, vocals.
  • Mike Foy – drums, vocals.
  • Scott Tobin – vocals, bass.
Dropkick’s new album ‘Balance The Light’ (their 14th) was released 25th March 2016 on Sound Asleep Records and Rock Indiana Records.